On 21 June 2014 the CBMS had a field
trip to the wonderful Luxulyan Valley. Ten people attended and the trip
was led by member Geof Purcell. The weather was hot and
dry but thankfully most of the walking was in shade beneath the trees.
At the northern end of the walk was the iconic Treffry Viaduct/Aquaduct. The viaduct was built 1839 to 1842 to carry a horse drawn tramway and water to feed the Carmears Water Wheel. No water was running at the time of the visit due to a leak in the leat.
Relatively newly exposed tramway rail shoes and lengths of original rail were then inspected before the impressive Carmears Water Wheel Pit was looked at.
Although no water was running there was much to see including the remains of the water wheel and grinding machinery. This huge wheel (first 30 ft diameter then 40ft diameter) was built around 1850 and was used to wind wagons up the incline. By 1890 the wheel was powering china clay stone mills at the site.
On the return journey members looked at several small mine adits and incline itself. This incline was built in 1840 and ran some 600mtrs to the valley floor. This was an excellent trip and thanks go to Geof Purcell form providing leaflets, maps, photos and much technical information about the valley.
The preserved 80inch pumping engine house on Prince of Wales Shaft at Phoenix United Mine on Caradon Hill in East Cornwall